Dateline: Payward, acquisition, 14 October 2026
Payward, the infrastructure company behind the Kraken exchange, has signed a definitive agreement to buy Saldo Finance Oy, the Finnish holding company that owns Saldo Bank, a digital lender licensed in Lithuania with passports into five European markets, according to a release published on 14 October 2026. The release, Fintechbits notes, gives no price, no figure for Saldo Bank’s deposits or loan book and no closing date tighter than 2027, which leaves readers to judge a banking licence without the numbers that usually come with one. Payward says Saldo Bank will carry Payward Banking, which has originated more than $2 billion in loans, into the EU.
Deal: Definitive agreement to acquire Saldo Finance Oy, holding company of Saldo Bank UABAmount: Not disclosed
Regulator: European Central Bank (licence) and Bank of Lithuania (supervision)
Market: Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Germany, with a passport for the Netherlands
What Payward gets with Saldo Bank
Saldo Bank is a small lender, with more than 90 staff at the end of September 2026, according to the release. It takes retail term deposits in Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Germany, and holds a passport for the Netherlands. Its lending is narrower than its deposit footprint: consumer loans in Lithuania, Finland and Sweden, and secured and unsecured SME loans in Lithuania and Finland only.
Saldo Bank also runs a card business and a wholesale arm. Its credit card is live in Finland, with a Swedish launch planned for 2027, and the bank has full SEPA payments access. It provides embedded lending to other fintech companies in Finland and Germany, a detail that matters more to Payward than the consumer book, because it means Saldo Bank already runs as infrastructure for other firms.
Saldo Bank holds a licence granted by the European Central Bank and is supervised by the Bank of Lithuania. That pairing explains the deal. Saldo Bank’s customer base is modest, so what Payward is buying is a regulated balance sheet that can take deposits across the eurozone.
How the deal fits Payward’s licence-by-licence build
Payward has been stacking permissions all autumn. Fintechbits covered Kraken’s planned UAE launch after full approval from Dubai’s VARA, and Payward’s settlement tie-up with Singapore Gulf Bank before that. The release lists what Payward Banking already holds: a Federal Reserve limited-purpose master account and an electronic money institution licence from the Central Bank of Ireland.
Arjun Sethi, Payward’s co-CEO, describes the strategy in the release as a business “we have been building license by license, market by market.” Jarkko Mäensivu, president of Saldo Bank, puts it more bluntly: “A banking license is only as valuable as what you build on top of it.”
Once the deal closes, Payward says it expects to offer European clients interest on deposits, lending products and banking-as-a-service, including passporting, card issuance and SME lending. Every item on that list carries the same qualifier: subject to regulatory approvals.
Fintechbits analysis
Fintechbits analysis
Why the Saldo Bank licence matters more than the price
The interest-on-deposits line explains the purchase. Under EU e-money rules, an electronic money institution cannot pay interest on the balances it holds, which is the ceiling Payward’s Irish licence puts on its European offer. A credit institution licence removes it. Kraken’s clients already park crypto and cash with Payward, and paying a yield on their euro balances from a regulated bank would change the commercial pitch more than another product launch.
Buying a bank is also quicker than applying for one. A new EU banking licence application can take a year or more, and the applicant would still have to build SEPA access and a deposit platform. Saldo Bank comes with the licence, the SEPA connection and the deposit book already in place, so the undisclosed price matters less than the approval the deal needs.
The approval is where the deal could slow down. Any change of control at a licensed eurozone bank needs a qualifying-holding decision, and a crypto-native buyer will face questions about governance and the separation of client assets. Payward’s own expected close of 2027 suggests it is not assuming a quick answer. On balance this is a sensible and fairly overdue move, and most of what Payward is paying for is time saved on a licence application, with Saldo Bank’s loan book a secondary prize.
Frequently asked questions
When will Payward’s Saldo Bank acquisition close?
Payward expects the Saldo Bank acquisition to close in 2027. Completion depends on customary conditions, including regulatory approvals, and the companies did not disclose financial terms.
Which countries does Saldo Bank operate in?
Saldo Bank serves customers in Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Germany and holds a passport for the Netherlands. It takes retail deposits in every market, makes consumer loans in three of them and SME loans in Lithuania and Finland.
What does the Saldo Bank release leave out?
Fintechbits notes that the release gives no price, no deposit or loan figures for Saldo Bank and no closing date tighter than 2027. Without a balance sheet, nobody outside the deal can tell whether Payward is paying for a lending business or simply for the licence.
What to Watch Next
The deciding document is the change-of-control approval for Saldo Bank. When it comes, look for conditions on how Payward separates the bank from its trading businesses, and for the first deposit rate Payward Banking offers European clients. If Payward later files or publishes Saldo Bank’s deposit and loan totals, that will show whether this was a licence purchase or a lending acquisition.
Why this matters
The release, Fintechbits notes, gives no price, no figure for Saldo Bank’s deposits or loan book and no close tighter than 2027. What Payward does get is an ECB-licensed bank with deposits in four countries and SEPA access, which lets Payward Banking pay interest on European balances, something its Irish e-money licence cannot do. The open question is the change-of-control approval, which will decide how fast that offer reaches Kraken’s European clients.
Primary sources
businesswire.com | PRESS RELEASE | https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20261014530263/en/Payward-to-Acquire-Saldo-Bank-Expanding-Payward-Banking-Across-Europe
saldo.com | COMPANY WEBSITE | https://www.saldo.com
businesswire.com | PRESS RELEASE | https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20261012881259/en/Kraken-Plans-UAE-Launch-Following-Full-Market-Approval-from-VARA-in-Dubai



